Dawn of the Oeconomia Imperium

Hello Oeconomia Imperium readers!

Thank you for joining me on this journey of blog posts as I explored the concept of empire through the eyes of a first year business administration student at the University of California, Irvine. I hope you enjoyed my analysis of various empires in the world of business. I really enjoyed this assignment because it allowed me to research into different businesses and explore my passion for commerce. Businesses are so important in today’s society and are the It was so fascinating learning about business strategies implemented by the large conglomerates that have so much influence on us as consumers. In the future I hope to get a job in management consulting and a lot of what they do relates with analyzing the tactics and strategies implemented by successful businesses. This quarter I pledged for Delta Sigma Pi – a professional, co-ed business fraternity at UCI and I met a lot of influential students that inspire me to pursue a career in consulting. If I end up following this career path, I will no doubt spend a lot of time thinking about the influence and practices of the business empires.

 

I would definitely recommend humanities core to any incoming first year students coming to UCI. I loved the rotating lecture speakers because each professor added a new fresh perspective about empire, such as viewing empires from a poet’s, artist’s, or historian’s perspective.  Our seminar discussions were personal, unique, and meaningful. We had the opportunity to learn in various different ways, including lectures on Roman military strategies and watching the movie, “The Revenant”, to boost our understanding about empire. This diverse learning experience was extremely valuable. I think one tip for success in this class is to be disciplined and keep up with reading. A lot of the text that we read in this class is extremely dense and difficult to understand. For example, Edward Said’s Politics of Knowledge, was a really powerful read but uses a lot of complex language. If you keep up with your reading, you will be well prepared to participate in class and get more about of the experience. We do a lot of writing too in humanities core and it definitely will make you a better writer.

Sincerely,

Executivus

Related image

Dawn in New York City

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑